Exchange Control Panel (ECP) Failed – Exchange Server 2010 SP1, RU6

I recently started getting this nice error every time that I tried to open the ECP site in my browser. I was pretty sure that it had always worked before, but this was clearly a problem now.

clip_image002

A little testing helped narrow down the problem. OWA worked fine. Users were not having any issues with email. Everything looked pretty good. So, I checked a few issues. I checked the properties of the ecp(Default Web Site) in the EMC Server Configuration level, and it was set appropriately. I tried to reset the virtual directory, and checked the logs.

As part of my troubleshooting, I wanted to eliminate the load balancer from the equation, so I went to the url, https://localhost/ecp, and it gave me a really interesting output.

clip_image004

This was the key to resolving the issue. The ‘MobileDevices’ is not a valid RBAC query error was the clue. The fix was simple. I opened up the Web.config file in \Program Files\Microsoft\Exchange Server\V14\ClientAccess\ecp\Troubleshooting and identified the allow roles section under the MobileDevices.slab tag in the xml.

clip_image006

I deleted the MobileDevices+ in the Web.config and saved it to get the below result. That was all that was needed to fix the issue.

clip_image008

After this, everything worked fine again. Thank you RU6 for being so helpful.

This entry was posted in Exchange. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Exchange Control Panel (ECP) Failed – Exchange Server 2010 SP1, RU6

  1. Ramy Omar says:

    Totally correct, I tried it and worked fine with me
    Thanks
    Ramr

  2. Ian says:

    Great post – fixed my exact same problem. No idea how the fault got there in the first place but thanks!

  3. JC says:

    Worked like a charm. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

