Plantronics Voyager Pro UC WG201

I have been going back and forth between the Voyager Pro UC and the Savi Go for the last few weeks. I am conflicted. I like them both, but I can see significant differences that have benefits over the other.

I love the Voyager. I love the Savi Go.

Flexibility – Like the Savi Go, once I plugged the dongle into my PC , it connected right up to the earpiece. I easily configured it for my Communicator client in my production environment, and I also easily configured it to use my Lync 2010 client. I also then configured the Voyager to use Bluetooth and connect to my cell phone.

Comfort – At first glance, I thought that there is no way that I will like this device because of the bulk that would have to go behind the ear. I tried it on, and it took me a few seconds to figure out the best way to get it on so that it didn’t pinch the top of my ear. It was not a design issue, it was an ear issue. Like the Savi Go, it worked well for me even though I wear glasses and is very comfortable. What I really am not too happy with, though, is the actual ear insert. Every time I answer a call, I end up pushing the ear insert into my ear. The ear insert on the Savi Go doesn’t have as much contact with the inside of my ear, which means that each time I answer calls from the headset, it doesn’t have as much physical contact. I would say that the Voyager would be fine for somebody that takes a reasonable number of calls each day.

Sound Quality – The sound quality and noise canceling are outstanding for this device. However, the boom doesn’t seem to work as well for voice recognition/dictation software (which has nothing to do with UC) as the Savi Go. I have absolutely no problems using this device when it comes to sound quality. It is really nice and clear.

Control – I am not thrilled with the volume controls because I have to feel around to make sure that I am pressing on the right part of the volume control. I keep turning down the volume when I want to turn it up unless I take a moment to feel around. The toggle on the Savi Go works much better for me because I don’t accidentally push the toggle the wrong direction.  

Charge – Six months ago, I would have complained about the Micro-B USB connection for the charging unit and the cable. However, in the last few months, I seem to be seeing the Micro-B as the standard USB port for many new devices including my Kindle, my external USB drives, and now the Voyager. The charge has lasted me every day that I have used the device, so I don’t really know what the maximum duration is for the battery. It certainly meets all of my needs.

Distance – I have not had any distance issues with the dongle. I can certainly walk around most of my home while using the headset and get nice and clear reception. I have some issues in my garage, though. <G>

Form Factor – One of the big differences between the Voyager and the Savi Go is the size of the devices when folded up. The Voyager fits much better in the pocket of my  back pack and in the drink tray of my car. Its boom makes it much smaller in comparison to the Savi Go, which is pretty reasonably sized in its own right.

So, which one would I recommend more between the Savi Go and the Voyager Pro? Well, yesterday, I had to make several calls that I knew would last a long time, and I grabbed the Savi Go without even thinking. I think, my gut says the Savi Go, but the Voyager Pro is a pretty great device, too.

To be totally open, though, I have found that the Voyager Pro UC device seems to be the one of the main standard devices for Lync administrators. For example, I am sitting in a room with six well known Lync professionals from different companies, and every single one of them is wearing a Voyager Pro UC.

This entry was posted in Office Communications Server. Bookmark the permalink.