Drop My Rights – Original Posted Mar 2, 2005

I have been doing a great deal of testing lately. One of the problems is that I have been having to log off and log on again using a test account with lower permissions to verify that scripts and applications work without my elevated rights. It really ticks me off that applications work wonderfully when I am logged in, but they don’t work for squat when logged in as a standard user. It ticks me off more because of the constant logging in and logging off.

Yes, I know, I could also use runas. I really hate using it, too. I hate the separate logon. I hate the minimal additional work using runas, too. I am not very easy to please.

Anyways, I was griping about my life (yes, I grip openly about each extra keystroke) having to go through all of the agony (it isn’t like I am pouring hot tar on a roof in Houston in August, but sometimes I act like it) of these extra steps when I was told about dropmyrights.

What an awesome and easy to use tool. http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/dncode/html/secure11152004.asp

Now, I just create a couple of short cuts with the dropmyrights in the shortcut and I can once again point and click my way to happiness.

Check it out!  It is worth a couple of minutes to read the link and download the application.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

