“Remote Call Control Only” Setting–Troubleshooting Missing Video Device

Back to the subject of troubleshooting audio and video in Lync 2010. It has been one of my favorite issues the last couple of weeks as I keep finding more and more oddities.

In this case, the issue was found: The user was configured for Remote Call Control Only. Not just Remote Call Control, but Remote Call Control Only. If you recall from some of the help files and some blogs, users configured for Remote Call Control Only can’t participate in video conferences.

Of course, if you run Get-CsUser, you will not get any attributes for the Telephony settings, so it is a bit hard to tell who is configured for Remote Call Control Only. A little research told me that what I am looking for are a couple of settings:

  • AudioVideoDisabled which is set to True
  • RemoteCallControlTelephonyEnabled which is set to True

When both attributes are True, it is equal to Remote Call Control Only.

OK, but back to the issue of Get-CsUser not displaying these settings. I wanted to confirm what I read. So, Elan Shudnow reminded me that the following will get it done:

Get-CsUser –Identity UserName | FL *

Awesome. I was happy to get that information. So, I ran the following to find everyone that was configured for Remote Call Control Only.

So, I ran the following in PowerShell:

Get-CsUser User1 | Where {$_.RemoteCallControlTelephonyEnabled –ilike “true” -and $._AudioVideoDisabled –ilike “true”} | Select DisplayName

I thought I had nailed it. Then, I got slapped around by some of my colleagues. Pat Richard said, “In most cases, you don’t have to evaluate if something is $true. Merely that it exists.” Of course, I totally was confused until I read the example:

Get-CsUser User1 | Where {$_.RemoteCallControlTelephonyEnabled -and $._AudioVideoDisabled } | FL DisplayName

Pat also pointed out that to save some typing, it could be:

Get-CsUser User1 | ? {$_.RemoteCallControlTelephonyEnabled  -and $_.AudioVideoDisabled}

Then to top it off, Thomas Lee had his say as he pointed out that with PowerShell v3, the Where-Object is simplified and can work like this:

Get-CsUser User1 | Where RemoteCallControlTelephonyEnabled –and AudioVideoDisabled | FL DisplayName

What did I learn from this?

I have a great deal to learn. Smile

This entry was posted in Lync. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

